DT990 600ohm
Nov 13, 2010 at 9:09 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 28

RequiieM

New Head-Fier
Before I begin, yes iv used the search bar.

"I sent a e-mail to Beyerdynamic, and they told me that there's difference in sound for each 32ohm, 250ohm, and 600ohm models. They'd recommend 600ohm version if the user has Powerful amp"

So what amp would power the 600ohm version? also how much are the DT990's 600ohms? I live in Aus, and theyre $600 dollars for the 250 ohm version, but a quick google said they sell as low as 230 dollars??? :S (I have an auzentech prelude to work as the DAC)

Also one quick thing, would an amp possibly cause a large audio output latency? Im a pro aus fps gamer, and im anxious about spending this much on audio, especially if I cant return it by buying it internationally.

I am willing to spend 1,000 total.

Nov 13, 2010 at 8:53 PM Post #2 of 28
A tube is better for the 990/600 ohm phones. In particular, I think the TLO tube sounds better on them.

Yes, you can buy these phones from several reliable sellers at about $250

Nov 13, 2010 at 9:08 PM Post #3 of 28
As stated in many of your other threads... An amp will not create noticeable audio latency (fractions of fractions of a second). And for the Nth time... buying such an expensive amp is not going to improve a game's sound better than it already is. Such amps are intended for music.

No offense but you really need making threads on the same topic. This is probably your 10th one. Either pick and be done with it or just don't buy headphones at all.

Nov 13, 2010 at 9:12 PM Post #4 of 28
Actually the threads have narrowed down my decision, I have selected the DT990 600ohm, now I need to find an amp for it (not a fiio e9)

And its not my 10th one, dont over exaggerate. I am not making you reply to them.

Nov 13, 2010 at 9:31 PM Post #5 of 28