Does the Fiio x5 (1st gen) need an amp??
Jun 14, 2015 at 8:38 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Hankert

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Posts
16
Likes
10
Hi,
 
I own a fiio x5 (1st gen) and a fiio e12a...
With the e12a it sounds warm and with abit more bass (since there is a bass on/off switch on the amp).
I was wondering what you guys think;
 
does the fiio x5 actually need an amp (for portable use)?
 
i combine the x5 with the hd650, ATH m50x, Final audio heaven design 4.
 
Thanks for your awnsers!
 
Jun 15, 2015 at 8:38 AM Post #2 of 10

SteveHiFi

Member of the Trade: HiFi Headphones
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Posts
995
Likes
63
I've tried the X5 with an E12 (1st version) and detected a very slight improvement over the X5 itself with the HiFiMAN HE-400. There was a tad more bass thump (bass boost off of course) and a tiny bit of detail/sharpness.
 
The E12 is a great portable amp but not strictly required with the X5 in my opinion - however the bass boost makes all the difference if you want a bit more down below.
 
Jun 15, 2015 at 11:34 AM Post #3 of 10

DrKC

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 23, 2013
Posts
165
Likes
46
I'm generally with Steve on this.  I have an X5 and an E12.  I like the combo when I'm listening to high impedance phones, HD650, HD580, DT880 and DT990s.  I get a greater sense of dynamics with the E12 than the X5 alone.  The crossfeed, for me is a nice feature on the E12 and as Steve said, the bass boost might be something you will like.
 
Cheers
 
Jun 15, 2015 at 11:34 AM Post #4 of 10

cel4145

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Posts
19,499
Likes
2,312
Location
grand rapids, mi
does the fiio x5 actually need an amp (for portable use)?


Not with most headphones.

I have the DX50, which is comparable to the X3s headphone amp. It easily drives my M50s. So even though I have the E12 which is more powerful, I don't see much reason to use it with my DX50.
 
Jun 15, 2015 at 4:52 PM Post #5 of 10

tx-sil

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Posts
31
Likes
13
I have the x5 and e12a combination, yesterday I tries to use x5 alone and immediately noticed that the vocal is significant worse without e12a on my w4r and inear sd2…… it's blur and weak …so in guess if you already used to the amp +x5 combination, it's hard to go back
 
Jun 15, 2015 at 4:56 PM Post #6 of 10

Hankert

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Posts
16
Likes
10
Thats quite funny actually because i did exacly the same, and came to the same conslusion! i used the x5 today without the e12 and there is just something missing, i dont know what it is, it feels like its just not powerfull enough when im not using the e12a!
 
Jun 15, 2015 at 4:57 PM Post #7 of 10

Hankert

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Posts
16
Likes
10
  I'm generally with Steve on this.  I have an X5 and an E12.  I like the combo when I'm listening to high impedance phones, HD650, HD580, DT880 and DT990s.  I get a greater sense of dynamics with the E12 than the X5 alone.  The crossfeed, for me is a nice feature on the E12 and as Steve said, the bass boost might be something you will like.
 
Cheers

Yeah with my hd650 its definitely better with the e12a than without!
ill keep using the e12a:)
 
Jun 15, 2015 at 4:58 PM Post #8 of 10

Hankert

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Posts
16
Likes
10
  I've tried the X5 with an E12 (1st version) and detected a very slight improvement over the X5 itself with the HiFiMAN HE-400. There was a tad more bass thump (bass boost off of course) and a tiny bit of detail/sharpness.
 
The E12 is a great portable amp but not strictly required with the X5 in my opinion - however the bass boost makes all the difference if you want a bit more down below.

Yeah i noticed that without the e12a there is almost no bass... i do like my bass so i will keep using it together, thanks for the awnser!
 
Jun 15, 2015 at 5:50 PM Post #9 of 10

bbball

Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Posts
60
Likes
12
I think X5 do need an amp. Its amp function is pretty limited compared to its awesome DAC/Player function.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top