Do I need an amp for my headphones?
post-1490252
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 3

D41LYBR34Dm4n

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Posts
41
Likes
0
I have the AKG K271's (http://www.toddthevinyljunkie.com/pr...uct.php?id=170)

and even when I plug them into my receiver for my TV set up at home they still don't sound as good as I would expect. Plugging into my iRiver they sound even worse. It's not BAD quality just not what I would expect from 200 dollar cans. I don't know anything about amps but I figured this might solve my problem.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1490257
Post #2 of 3

wwmidia

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
75
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Posts
75
Likes
0
You can see I don't have a AKG cans but I'd dare to say almost all AKG cans seriously want amp.

But I also believe it sounds decent without amp.

Anywhy, remember I don't have 271s at the moment.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1490882
Post #3 of 3

nice-biscuit

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 14, 2005
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 14, 2005
Posts
30
Likes
0
I would say any can needs an amp with a portable player, even if they say they don't. You will definately notice an improvement in sound. I have a SuperMacro 3 which is nice, with many features and no audible hiss which you get from the cheaper amps. You can change with the Op amps as well until you get the sound you like. Ray Samuels SR71 and Shellbrook Audio Super Mini Moy are worth checking out.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top