Do I need a DAC?
Nov 5, 2006 at 10:25 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

mojorisin676

100+ Head-Fier
I'm not exactly sure what a DAC is, and I'm not sure if the sound quality of CD's would be better with one played through a tube headphone amp. I'm new to these and the upsampling, oversampling, non oversampling, etc just confuses me completely. The setup I have now is just a sony dvd player analog out to my aria sonice headphone amp to my SR-225s. What exactly does a CD player with a built in 192 kHz 24 Bit Digital to Analog Converter (what I have) differ from other seperate DACS like Zhalou and Lite? I know that you have to use a coax or optical out to the DAC from CD/DVD player and then to amp, headphones, etc. Why does it make a difference if there is a just a seperate DAC instead of the ones built into generic CD/DVD players? Does it have to do with the signal running through a digital cable like the coax or toslink? I'm really asking this because over the Christmas holidays I am planning on getting a Ear+ Mapletree Audio HD150 Headphone amp and I know I have to upgrade my source. I was thinking of the Cambridge Audio 640cv2 CD player that has 2 DACs already built in and the question really is, is a seperate DAC really necessary for optimum sonic quality. I know this is a completely noob question but I'd just like an explanation why you can't just have a CD player ->headphone amp -> headphones combination.

Nov 5, 2006 at 10:34 PM Post #2 of 14
A DAC is a digital to analog converter. You have to use a digital cable (coaxial, optical, etc.) because you want to take the digital data from your transport (The name given to your original source when using a DAC) and transfer it to your DAC in digital form. Then you run an analog cable from your DAC to your amplifier because the DAC has converted the digital signal into an analog signal that is ready to be amplified by your amplifier.