Did you have your D2000's or D5000's recabled?
Sep 15, 2009 at 9:14 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Jodet

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Posts
1,194
Likes
216
If so, would you do it again? Why?

Who did it and how much was it? I'm not looking for info on other mods (layton, for example) just re-cabling.

Thanks for any info.




Search keywords: D2000 D5000 re-cable recable
 
Sep 16, 2009 at 7:17 AM Post #2 of 7

Jodet

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Posts
1,194
Likes
216
No one has recabled D2K's or D5K's?

Who is keeping all these 're-cable your headphones' people in business? They gotta eat, ya know.
smily_headphones1.gif
 
Sep 16, 2009 at 12:13 PM Post #3 of 7

TheAudioDude

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Posts
735
Likes
12
It seems like everyone who has an HD650 or similar headphone has it re-cabled. I don't think that the Denons NEED re-cabling.

Most people re-cable if they want a balanced connection, but some re-cable just to get a better cable. But the Denons already have the necessary wires, so if you want a balanced connection you simply have to re-terminate the end.
 
Sep 16, 2009 at 1:21 PM Post #4 of 7

musicman59

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 27, 2004
Posts
4,530
Likes
590
Location
Canton, MI
I have two D2000 recabled. The first one I did was with APS version 2 with Furutech 1/4" plug. Since then I re-terminate them to balanced.
The second one (which I have for sale in the forum. Search for Cocobolo in the headphones for sale forum to see pictures). is recabled with Enigma Audio Oracle 2 balanced.

The cable on the D2000 is inferior to the D5000. I used to own the D5000 and never re-cabled them and now I own the D7000 and just re-terminate the stock cable to balance.

IMO performing a re-cable on the D2000 will improve the sound and will bring them closer to the D5000 and if you change the plastic cups to wood they can be better than the D5000 since the rest of the components are exactly the same including the drivers.

The stock cable of the D2000 is not very good so yes I would recommend a re-cable job with a better cable.
 
Sep 16, 2009 at 3:59 PM Post #5 of 7

Jodet

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Posts
1,194
Likes
216
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman59 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I have two D2000 recabled. The first one I did was with APS version 2 with Furutech 1/4" plug. Since then I re-terminate them to balanced.
The second one (which I have for sale in the forum. Search for Cocobolo in the headphones for sale forum to see pictures). is recabled with Enigma Audio Oracle 2 balanced.

The cable on the D2000 is inferior to the D5000. I used to own the D5000 and never re-cabled them and now I own the D7000 and just re-terminate the stock cable to balance.

IMO performing a re-cable on the D2000 will improve the sound and will bring them closer to the D5000 and if you change the plastic cups to wood they can be better than the D5000 since the rest of the components are exactly the same including the drivers.

The stock cable of the D2000 is not very good so yes I would recommend a re-cable job with a better cable.



Does anyone sell wood cups for the D2000, or do you have to go the whole markl routine?
 
Sep 17, 2009 at 5:15 PM Post #7 of 7

musicman59

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 27, 2004
Posts
4,530
Likes
590
Location
Canton, MI
A friend of mine made the Cocobolo ones for me.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top