"DIAMOND" vs. "NEUTRAL" Audio-GD DACs - who has COMPARED? Or are DSP1 - REVISIONS more crucial?
Nov 30, 2010 at 6:38 AM Post #151 of 158

Quote:
I'm sorry Regal, you may need to carry out more research.

http://www.edaboard.co.uk/current-output-dacs-t288144.html

"Current output DACs don't put the "output op amp" on the chip so that you
can select your own output opamp, depending on your bandwidth, noise,
accuracy (dc precision), settling time and power requirements.

When selecting opamps you often trade off bandwidth for DC precision, so you
don't want to select an opamp with excessive bandwidth."

Why would there be a need for "DC precision"?

The PCM1704 wants to have no DC present on its output,  this has been discussed many times and is the reason that passive I/V sound poor with this chip.  I have been working with this chip for several years and know its characteristics,  greater than 10 ohms resistance (24mV DC) and you start to have distortion same # was published in the TD1541 datasheet after that it became "assumed.".  The tests have been done by many I believe Swenson was the first to prove it.    It is well known that most i-out DAC's needs a near zero impedance load.  The PCM1704 being R2R and bipolar supplied means its output is at 0V DC and you need to design your analog stage to keep it there,  as the RE1/7 do a very good job at pulling off.   You need to do more research I suggest diyhifi.org (I/V for PCM1704.).

Nov 30, 2010 at 8:10 AM Post #152 of 158

Quote:
You need to do more research I suggest diyhifi.org (I/V for PCM1704.).

eek.gif

Fine!

angry_face.gif

I'll think about it.

cool.gif

wink.gif

Jan 9, 2011 at 7:07 AM Post #153 of 158
Now this reply is about my final appreciation of the Ref 9 DAC, as an example of the "musical type" pcm1709 - dac lineup of audio-gd.

First of all, hello again, fellows, and have a happy new year!

I own my REF 9 for about two months now, and I thought it was time to give a little update.