Denon AH-C551 or Etymotic ER-6i or ...?
Apr 14, 2008 at 9:00 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

nicholaus

Head-Fier
I recently bought an iPod Touch and would like to find a good pair of quality IEM's.As you can see,I'm new to Head-Fi,and i came here seeking answers,but instead just got confused.
confused.gif
I currently have the Sennheiser PX100,and I'm satisfied with the sound,but really need an IEM.My choice came down to the Denon C551 and Ety ER-6i as said in the title.I'm buying from e-Bay,considering I'm from Croatia.I'm not an audiophile,but trying to get there...
smily_headphones1.gif
Comfort is a factor,too.If u want to recommend any other IEM around this price range,please do.

Apr 14, 2008 at 10:30 AM Post #3 of 15
How are they different to the Denon or Etymotic model?

Apr 14, 2008 at 10:42 AM Post #5 of 15
Quote:

Originally Posted by nicholaus /img/forum/go_quote.gif
How are they different to the Denon or Etymotic model?

Have you read any of the threads on the IM716? If so, you'll have noted that most people feel they need to be used with an amp to get maximum benefit from them. If you're not prepared to carry round an amp (or to get the 'podectomy' done), then it won't be such a good choice for you.

There are lots of threads about the C551s and also the Etymotic ER-6i.

The C551s are excellent little earphones (solid aluminium housing), with a good amount of tight bass and a forward midrange. My friend has the Etymotic ER-6i and she loves them. I tried them once and didn't like how 'thin' and 'empty' they sounded compared with the Denons, but that's just my opinion. I don't think you can go wrong with the Denons.

Apr 14, 2008 at 11:25 AM Post #6 of 15