DAT player/recorder as source?
Apr 24, 2014 at 12:05 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

DivineCurrent

500+ Head-Fier
Hey, so I know what you're thinking....is this guy out of his mind using a DAT player for a source?

I came across this DAT player and recorder, the Panasonic SV-3800. I started playing around with it, recording some stuff and playing music directly from a mixing board through the DAT recorder and to my headphones.

Now, back in the day (this player came out in 1998), this thing was worth around $1,200, and I know for a fact not all that cost was dedicated to the recording and features of it. My question is, do DAT players like this come close to modern DACs like from Schiit and Yulong? I haven't tried any of those dac's yet, however, to my ears the SV-3800 has a clear, detailed and neutral sound. I absolutely LOVE the mids that come out of this thing, it's just so flawless and natural sounding. I just plugged a few headphones in such as my newest edition, the HD 580s, and it's as good as it can be. Too bad the DAT player is too big and bulky for portable use...

So, am I crazy saying this DAT player is a better source than say your average $250 cd player?

Apr 26, 2014 at 3:28 PM Post #2 of 10
I cannot directly speak to this component, but you have the right idea. I am always shocked when people buy expensive direct components when a higher quality alternative is available at a lower price. For example, many old DVD-audio players are rather inexpensive now and they are of outstanding quality. One can buy one of these with an optical input, and use the DAC. this is far better than many stand alone DACs, but few do this. For the life of me I do not understand why. 

Overall, many DATs from this time were really great. People used them for home recording studios.My guess is that is is far better than many modern DACs. Can you find its specs somewhere online?

Apr 26, 2014 at 3:35 PM Post #3 of 10