DAC Output Coupling Cap Considerations, Size, Bypassing, Quality
Nov 8, 2008 at 7:44 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 41

bmwpowere36m3

100+ Head-Fier
Hey guys, I'm still new to the whole understanding electronic circuits but I'm making headway... I'm particularly interested in output coupling caps and their role in DAC's. I've recently iModed my iPod Mini so I can take advantage of the Wolfson WM8711 DAC for the time being.

First question, when typically used coupling caps block DC offset from entering the next circuit (that part I understand)... however are they always implemented like this:

210px-High_pass_filter.svg.png

A capacitor in series with the "line" and a resister? In essence the implementation of a coupling capacitors is a high-pass filter, correct? Thus using f = 1 / 2*PI*C*R you can get the -3dB point (Hz). So my next question is how are these values (C & R) determined, are they arbitrary (as long as you get a f3 thats low enough) or is there more?

My understanding is choosing a f3 point that ~10X less than the lowest frequency of interest will reduce phase distortion, i.e. for audio circuit a f3 of ~2 would keep distortions out of the 20+Hz range.

Picture2.png

I was reading Walt Jung's, "Picking Capacitors" and in it states that not only keeping a low f3 is important, but also minimizing impedance (ideally 10K or less)... opinions? This impedance I think he's referring to is the paralleled resistance of the input (pot in an amp, RL) to the "pull-down" resistor in coupling cap circuit (Rb).

So for my CMoY (10K pot) I'd need a ~any size Rb, but for a typical amp (50K pot) you'd need ~12K or less. So how would a 47uF & 10K(total R) for a f3 of .34Hz output coupling circuit sound/work? As I'm typically seeing Rb values ~47K and some DIY DAC's as high as 330K.

Now this info applied to my DAC, Wolfson WM8711 which states this as a recommend setup:

Picture1.png