DAC help.
Jul 11, 2014 at 11:04 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

leinster11

New Head-Fier
Hi. I'm relatively new to the audiophile world. I have had Sennheiser HD 650s for about 4 years and used them about every day for gaming, music and movies i just love them.
A few months back I discovered about headphone amps and DACs. Everyone and their mother says that a DAC makes a world of difference but I just can't tell the difference between them and the jack on the laptop.

My set up is

Headphone's: Sennheiser HD 650, 700 and IE80's.
Amp/DAC: Epiphany acoustic EHP-O2D and Dacmagic XS.
Source: CD's riped to Wav lossless and Sony Music unlimited.

I definitely notice it louder but nothing else i have set both DACs to 24 bit 96000 hz studio quality and set the dacmagic to USB 2.0.

Is there something I'm doing wrong or are my ears broken. Everybody and everywhere I look tells of how DACs are making music and movies sound incredible. To me the headphone jack and the DACs sound identical.

Would much appreciate some help please!

Jul 12, 2014 at 11:59 AM Post #2 of 5
Everyone and their mother says that a DAC makes a world of difference but I just can't tell the difference between them and the jack on the laptop.

That depends on a lot of factors, and by how much the improvements will be. Between two properly designed DACs with proper output stages, the differences are negligible if not placebo. It's only when, for example, you are comparing one improperly designed DAC (any part of it) vs a good one that you will be able to tell the difference, and sometimes there actually are people who end up heaping praise on the "bad" DAC with the sound deliberately colored by its output stage - because for example it has very strong bass, or very warm midrange, etc - and think of the properly designed DAC as boring.