Custom IEM's vs off the shelf IEM's with support electronics
Aug 28, 2011 at 7:31 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

jnug

New Head-Fier
I am a newbie in more ways than one. However having come to this site often to read the excellent reviews and post by its members I just cannot think of a better place to ask these questions. While I own and have owned a fair number of pretty good IEM's and earbuds (triple.fi 10 pros, SE530;s for example) I have never either crossed the line into custom IEM's or the portable dac/amp world.

However so many new products have come out that are aimed at portable high end digital audio that I can hardly avoid it at this point. I have at various times purchased an ipod classic, an itouch and now an iphone. I still have all three devices and while there are certainly non-apple devices out there I think I have that end of things covered. I really did not get them as a series of options. I got the itouch as my first portable audio/video device of that type. I got the ipod because I bought a car with an ipod dock and I did not want to move my itouch in and out of the car and I got the iphone because it was just time for a new smartphone. 

I have been looking at the next generation of IEM's like the Westone 4's and the SE535 along with all of the new portable electronics out there. It does seem that custom IEM's have continued to improve to the point where I don't wonder that simply using something like an itouch, iphone or an ipod with a very good custom IEM like the Starkey SA-43's possibly with a headphone amp or maybe even the JH-3A/JH16 combination makes the most sense. The performance of the really high end, custom IEM's seems to reach out so far beyond what even the best (off the rack) IEM's are capable of that it almost seems to make even the addition of an amp in question if you have one of the really high end custom IEM's.