Crackling from Ipod/DT770 & Member Re-Introduction
Oct 24, 2007 at 10:36 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Bigfieroman

Head-Fier
A little background first; it has been a while since I have been posting regularly.

About a year I joined up when I started researching replacements for my Koss UR-20 headphones. Through my research here, I ended up with some Koss Pro 4AATs and KSC-75. I posted for a while, but eventually I went back to school and stopped using my headphones.

Now that I graduated and am in the office constantly, I realized my setup was very poor for my tastes. I am really a bass head, and I hate high frequencies. The Koss KSC-75s are too open for the office, and the Pro4AATs really lack bass. The Pengamp I have really isn't great for bass either, and my source really sucked.

So I went all out for bass. I first picked up an 4G ipod and a microshar line-out cable. I realize the ipod is not optimal, but it fully integrates with my car HU (Avic-D3) and I don't want to carry around 2 mp3 players. For an amp, I went with an XM4, and swapped out the op-amp for an OPA2228. Then I went with some AKG K81 DJs, with a nice recable and Senn HD25 pads. I liked their sound, but man, they got painful after about 1 hour. I didn't realize when I bought them that they were on-the-ear type.

Too replace them, I picked up some Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro/80 ohm. They are burning in right now, (about 30 hours so far), at a fairly aggressive volume at the recommendation of a headphone friend (claimed they don't respond well to listening-volume burn-in).

ANYway, here is my question: I have been noticing some distortion/crackling noises, especially out of the right ear. It seems to happen at fairly high frequencies, like higher vocals or violins. I isolated the amp, and I was getting it out of the headphone out and the line out. I have tried the AKG k81s and it SEEMS that they do it too, but I am not sure.