Considering to buy a car in another state what should I know?
May 22, 2007 at 10:26 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

Idsynchrono_24

Headphoneus Supremus
Hey guys, I've got some friends helping me out over in California to locate a certain car for me. If everything is mechanically sound with the car, then I'm probably going to jump on it, and drive it back. I'm just curious what I should be aware of in terms of taxes, paperwork etc. since I've never done anything like this before.

Thanks a million,
Id

May 22, 2007 at 10:53 PM Post #2 of 8
You really should be asking your local department of motor vehicles this. Most states will give a temporary tag as long as you have insurance and a reciept. Most likley you will have to pay the sales tax in your home state when you register it. Good luck!

May 22, 2007 at 11:11 PM Post #3 of 8
Quote:

Originally Posted by Idsynchrono_24 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Hey guys, I've got some friends helping me out over in California to locate a certain car for me. If everything is mechanically sound with the car, then I'm probably going to jump on it, and drive it back. I'm just curious what I should be aware of in terms of taxes, paperwork etc. since I've never done anything like this before.

Thanks a million,
Id

You can get a no cost/low cost transport tag to drive it to your state, however once in state, the transport tag is not good for driving.

May 22, 2007 at 11:16 PM Post #4 of 8
What state do you live in? California has different smog laws than other states, and there are CA & Federal versions of most cars on the road. If you live outside of California I would not buy a vehicle from inside California.

May 22, 2007 at 11:28 PM Post #5 of 8