Confusion on USB connection from motherboard to DAC
Dec 25, 2022 at 9:45 PM Post #16 of 26
Then again not many people mount their DAC inside the computer chassis
ah, got it
is this a dedicated streamer you are building? or just your "normal pc" you try to integrate the dac into?

either way, i would probably use this then: https://www.ebay.de/itm/195508967625 and a cable of your choice, the pcb layout is probably straightforward and best case impedance matched but even if not the short pcb traces shouldnt have much influence and from there you can go with a good usb cable of your choice

but you can also try the cable you already ordered first :)

Another option while not as "clean" is this adapter cable with a small pcb at either end. This particular adapter from China also has discrete components soldered to it which are there for a purpose, but they give no technical information what it does. It looks a bit hoaky but that is all I can go on as I'm not an expert here.
i would probably avoid it, since a straight cable is all you need in this case

Dec 25, 2022 at 9:55 PM Post #17 of 26
ah looks like its mostly just a watercooled gaming rig, nice setup :) way too expensive parts for my taste tho :D

i made the expierence, atleast with my gaming PC, that a dedicated raspberry pi streamer will always sound better no matter what you do in form of tweaks, windows is a culprit here too tho
i would go for galvanic isolation either case, a GPU produces way too much noise but experiment yourself if you are curious :)

im also not a great fan of dedicated windows x86 streamer builds, i just think the minimalistic RPI4 setup is very hard to beat and costs way less, tho there are some nice software options for windows

Last edited:
Dec 25, 2022 at 10:40 PM Post #18 of 26
ah, got it
is this a dedicated streamer you are building? or just your "normal pc" you try to integrate the dac into?