Computer Audio Setup, Complete NOOB help
Apr 21, 2008 at 1:57 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

rukawa11

New Head-Fier
Hello All,

I will either be getting a sennheiser hd600 or k701 and i just bought a computer with an integrated sound card and i also just purchased an onkyo receiver. I understand for computer audio a dac is essential so i guess i will be getting that as well. I'm going to setup my computer as a media pc and I'm just not sure what other devices to get to set this whole thing up, and also how to set it up(i.e. what plugs into what). I want to be able to use the headphones to listen to the TV, PS3 and the Comp. Right now i just have the ps3 connected to the plasma tv via hdmi. Would i then connect the plasma to the receiver using rca cables(or would i use other cables for better sound), and then connect the sound card from the computer to the receiver via coax/optical, and then connect the amp to the receiver? Then where does the dac come in? and also if the tv and the comp is connected to the receiver how will i be able to watch tv through speakers and listen to music from pc through headphones at the same time?
Sorry if what i wrote is confusing but basically this is what i have and will be getting and i just wanted to know how to hook it up. Thanks a lot for ur time guys!!!!!!!

What i have/will be getting within the week:
Computer
Plasma TV
Receiver
Headphones(hd600 or k701)
PS3

What I will get in addition to make this work(let me know if any of these aren't needed or you have other suggestions):
DAC(octavart or Zero)
Amp(ld mkv or mk2)
Soundcard(x-fi extrememusic)

Apr 21, 2008 at 2:14 AM Post #2 of 5
Squeezebox
rolleyes.gif

Apr 21, 2008 at 3:58 AM Post #3 of 5