Head-Fier
Set Up:

-Coroda Move Amp - About 500 hours use
-2nd Gen IPOD Nano - Over 1,000 hours
-ALO Cryo Dock (Copper) About 300
-Grado SR-80's - About 400 hours use
-Grado SR-225's - About 300 hours use
-Musical tastes - From Holly Cole, to Keb Mo', to DJ Tiesto

Ok, This is meant to be a comparison of how the 80's compare to my new 225's to MY ears.

I bought the 80's and Corda Move a few months back, and they were my first introduction to headphone hi-fi, though I have a lot of experience in home 2-channel hi-fi.

Listneing tests consisted ot 2 parts:

-Part 1: concentrated a/b'ing of tracks I am extremely familiar with
-Part 2: listneing to the music with no concentration, simply letting my mind subconsciously grading the expereince on dozens of tracks I am very familiar with. I actually found this method to be more telling overall.

The 80's were a revelation, and very detail and airy sounding to someone that had never experienced headphone hi-fi. But, I was left wanting something more. I felt they were a bit bright sounding, had a slight but noticable disconnect in the timing transition between the low to mid/high frequencies, and could sounded a bit then with jazz. The disconnect let a funky rythym thing I couldn't put my finger on until I heard the 225's. It was subtle, but there.

The 225's simply smoke the 80's. They do however, need a MINIMUM of 200 hours burn in before real listening, and over 300 for to wring out every bit of thier ability to be open and airy.