Comments on my plan for computer audio?
Nov 19, 2008 at 5:48 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

samspotting

New Head-Fier
I am a student on a budget, but I am on coop so I have some loose change for a set of speakers and possible peripherals. I want to buy a set of speakers that will last me a long time, as my old ones broke. I want something that is better sounding than regular logitech/creative brand speakers that I had, as after listening to my grado sr60s, I am looking for better sound. It will be used in a dorm sized room.

For around 200$ of a budget for speakers, are there better value speakers than Audioengine A2s, which is my current choice atm. I can't buy swan as I am in Canada (theaudioinsider.com doesnt ship to canada anymore). I am open to bigger sized monitors and possibly an amp.

For the source, I am a dell vostro. Is that enough for this level of sound, or should I upgrade to a dac like the alien, or super pro 707?

Nov 19, 2008 at 5:54 PM Post #2 of 7
used gear is definitely the way to go at this price point (well actually most price-points). you might be able to pickup some very nice vintage gear on craigslist even - which would be nice as you would save on shipping costs which at a $200 budget might mean a significant percentage. but you might also think about getting a decent dac+headphone-amp unit used for now and listening with your headphones so that when you have some more money you can buy speakers and you would have a nice source already.

Nov 19, 2008 at 6:02 PM Post #3 of 7
Is there any place I can get information about used gear, whats good, and at what prices?

I move every 4 months because of coop, so it has to fit in a suitcase. Monitors + sub used sounds good, but arent most used equiptments non amped? How big is a typical amp, and cost?

I am looking at speakers as it would be nice turn them on while theres people hanging out in my room.

Nov 19, 2008 at 8:57 PM Post #5 of 7