CMOY Bump in the Road - Any Help Appreciated!
Jul 8, 2012 at 10:24 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

btol

New Head-Fier
Hi Everyone,

I'm a newb with very very little electrical knowledge having a go at the CMOY headphone amp. After a few glitches, I made it to setting up the enclosure and trying to figure out how to wire the panel components when I realized that I might have another issue. 

I couldn't find the Alps pot online that Tangent recommends (Alps RK097) so I went to Radio Shack and purchased the substitute that he listed (271 1732). As I was cruising through the various cmoy forums to determine what lugs on the pot go to which part of the board, I ran into a site that said if the Shack pot is being used, R2 needs to be changed to a value between 200K and 1M. Apparently, there's a problem with the fact that the Alps pot is 10K while the Shack one is 100K.

So I'm at a crossroads.

Do I go the R2 switch up route? If so, what values would you recommend that I change them to? Or is this false and I should just go ahead and use the RS pot without changing the R2's?

I've also heard that cheaper pots like the Shack one can have issues when playing at lower volumes. Should I scrap the Shack pot altogether and try to track down the Alps one?

Lastly, if I you think the Shack pot shouldn't be a problem, I'd greatly appreciate any advice on which of the lugs I need to use and where those should be connected to on the board and the various panel components (http://tangentsoft.net/audio/cmoy-tu...ayout-0150.pdf).  I went ahead and included pics of the substitute pot in case it's helpful.

Feeling a bit confused due to my lack of knowledge so thanks in advance for the help.

Jul 9, 2012 at 10:00 PM Post #2 of 10