cMoy Amplifier - Help a novice?
post-7672399
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 17

VoltageCaek

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Posts
6
Likes
0
So I've just started getting into electronic projects, I did a couple kits, and someone told me I should try a cMoy Amp. So I read about it and it seemed like a good little project for a novice. So I got all my parts from Radioshack (I know, I know. I also got the worst OpAmp ever, but I plan on replacing it, it's more there just so I can get this to work. Cost me a buck.) and then spent a day working on it.
I turned it on, and there weren't any over-heating issues. So I then plugged my iPod in, and used some cheap earbuds to test. There wasn't sound, so I turned it up on the iPod. Near the loudest, the music is very, very, very faint. And then If I max it on the iPod, it is a lot of weird noise, with chirps and scratches. Looking online it sounds like grounding issue. Some say to take a multimeter and test certain areas, but I don't understand where I'm checking.
I checked the V+ and V- to the ground spot, and it's coming out as 8.1 for V+ to ground, and 1.4 for V- to ground. I can't find a solder bridge anywhere though.
 
I have pictures, if you need another picture of something let me know and I'll get it. 
Also, I am following this guide.
Thank you for anyone who can help me figure it out!
 
http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/l558/VoltageCaek/IMG_9517.jpg
 
http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/l558/VoltageCaek/IMG_9516.jpg
 
http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/l558/VoltageCaek/IMG_9519.jpg
 
http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/l558/VoltageCaek/IMG_9520.jpg
 
http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/l558/VoltageCaek/IMG_9521.jpg
 
     Share This Post       
post-7673078
Post #2 of 17

Pingupenguins

Member of the Trade: BTG Audio / Q Audio
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
900
Reaction score
61
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Posts
900
Likes
61
I've tried that guide before and failed. You need flexible wire and helping hands to accomplish that, and since your new you probably don't. I made the mistake of buying solid core and haveing no helping hands. Try this. It's much easier and better sounding.
 
http://www.jdslabs.com/diy.php
 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7673528
Post #3 of 17

Dan55

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
75
Reaction score
0
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Posts
75
Likes
0
I'm a novice myself, but it sounds like something is wrong with the power supply. The measurements should be about equal between V+ and ground and V- and ground, according to Tangent's guide. Can you post some pictures of the "other" side of the board (where the LED, switch and battery clip are connected)?
 
Really nice work so far, by the way. It looks a lot better than my first CMoy. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7673575
Post #4 of 17

John In Cali

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
918
Reaction score
31
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Posts
918
Likes
31
Have you cleaned the flux off?  Flux can bridge gaps without you seeing it.  Ive actually built that amp for my first project and got great results. Also check the audio jacks, the ones from radioshack suck.
If you want to upgrade get 470uf power caps the larger film caps .22 or .47uf will do you good, the opa 2132 or 2134 will be better too.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7673655
Post #5 of 17

Fred_fred2004

Member of the Trade: Fred_fred2004 (Ebay Store)
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
952
Reaction score
28
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Posts
952
Likes
28
     Share This Post       
post-7673756
Post #6 of 17

VoltageCaek

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Posts
6
Likes
0
@Fred_Fred2004
I checked that out, it's the negative for the LED power. But it was dry, so thank you for pointing that out. I fixed that up.
BTW I almost bought your kit on eBay. I apologize, I just wanted all the pieces same day. In the future I'll buy your kit if I end up making more amps for friends/family.
 
@John in Cali
I did that last night when I was reading about possible problems. It made the board a lot more clear, but it didn't fix or change any of the sound problems.
 
@Dan55
I'll get those pictures tomorrow morning. My camera is dead right now (Always dies at the worst times it seems)
If it is a power supply problem, what could be wrong?
 
 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7673972
Post #7 of 17

Fred_fred2004

Member of the Trade: Fred_fred2004 (Ebay Store)
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
952
Reaction score
28
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Posts
952
Likes
28
     Share This Post       
post-7674069
Post #8 of 17

VoltageCaek

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Posts
6
Likes
0
     Share This Post       
post-7674110
Post #9 of 17

Fred_fred2004

Member of the Trade: Fred_fred2004 (Ebay Store)
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
952
Reaction score
28
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Posts
952
Likes
28
Ok both of those are single opamps and will not work, and that will be the problem
 
cheers
FRED
 
     Share This Post       
post-7674117
Post #10 of 17

Fred_fred2004

Member of the Trade: Fred_fred2004 (Ebay Store)
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
952
Reaction score
28
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Posts
952
Likes
28
     Share This Post       
post-7674975
Post #11 of 17

akgfan

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 3, 2010
Messages
160
Reaction score
13
Joined
Oct 3, 2010
Posts
160
Likes
13
TL082 is always good to have for checking functionality.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7679324
Post #12 of 17

rembrant

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Posts
164
Likes
0
LOL TL082 is actually decent for audio. Not really what I would wish to have but it sounds better than most of the kids toys out there that use them improperly. Not that a C-moy is "proper" either. They should also have tl072. Both of those will work in a pinch.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7679427
Post #13 of 17

Fred_fred2004

Member of the Trade: Fred_fred2004 (Ebay Store)
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
952
Reaction score
28
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Posts
952
Likes
28
Radio shack dosent appear to stock very much now a days, the TL082 was the only chip I could see that would at least work :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-7680684
Post #14 of 17

castlevania32

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Posts
171
Likes
13


Quote:
Is that a dry joint?
 


where do you find these pcb's ? i thought of going from jds labs but the shipping refrain me (5$ pcb +6,50$ shipping). Can i make a JDS cmy from a pcb like yours ? Does people on head fi sell cmoy pcbs?
 
     Share This Post       
post-7682670
Post #15 of 17

Fred_fred2004

Member of the Trade: Fred_fred2004 (Ebay Store)
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
952
Reaction score
28
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Posts
952
Likes
28
Thats just a piece of proto board, using Tangents tutorial its a doddle :)
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top