Closed advice - Senn 280, Senn 25, Beyer 250, AKG 271
Feb 11, 2007 at 4:27 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 26

pretzelb

100+ Head-Fier
With my new entry level purchases (PA2V2 and Grado SR60) I'm having a lot of fun and decided to look into another purchase. I can justify a purchase by getting a closed set of cans for work and travel. But, along the way I did demo some Senn 555 and 600 and liked the sound and (after reading here) I was going to try and grab some Senn 580s before they run out. So, trying to stretch the budget I'm debating the following scenarios:

Senn 580 + Senn 280
I get two new toys to play with, but the closed 280s may not be all that great but functional. Advantage of the 280s is that I wouldn't worry about them as much at work as the others. But I'd be following Head-Fi tradition and getting more toys.
tongue.gif

Beyer DT 250-250
I think my amp can help drive these and I'd get to try a new brand I've never tried before. I think the velvet would be more comfortable than the others.

AKG K 271 S
Another brand I've never tried but highly rated and it's closed.

Senn HD 25
I've tried Senn before so good chance they'd be good for me but I'd only get one toy but supposedly they're very portable.

My tastes in music are varied to all but heavy metal. I'm not a big base fan at all but I do listen to hip-hop and trance mixes from time to time. I prefer clean and neutral. I get a kick out of hearing details that I've not noticed before like when you can hear bow strings on violins with classical. I did enjoy the HD 600 that I heard in the store and kind of use that as my reference.

I'm kind of all over the map here but I've read quite a few posts and reviews and I think it's time to just hear some suggestions to push me over the edge.

Feb 11, 2007 at 9:41 AM Post #2 of 26
Most of the cans on your list fall under being "transportable" but it seems like you'd want something smaller if you're going to use it for work and travel.