Cayin N5ii vs Onkyo DP-X1A vs A&K AK7Oii
Jan 28, 2018 at 7:24 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

Matty87

New Head-Fier
Hi all,

I was hoping to get some advice on an upgrade I want to pull the trigger on: updating from my iBasso DX50/ Fiio X3ii.

I am 100% open to suggestions other than what I have shortlisted so far, I am hoping to stay at around the $800 AUD mark without going too much over.

My aim is to find a good pairing for my new Beyer T5Pii's.

I am considering:

1. Cayin N5II ($549 AUD) - attracted to this for the price and relatively good reviews
2. Onkyo DP-X1A ($669 AUD) - this got my attention due to price for dual DAC hardware
3. A & K AK70ii ($899 AUD) - again dual DAC, excellent reviews however is it worth the extra $?

I should also mention that I am looking to get a 2.5mm balanced cable for the T5Pii. All of the above have this option.

I also wanted to ask if the single DAC in the Cayin negatively affects the balanced output there (sorry I have no experience with balanced rigs)?

Sound-wise I enjoy separation, soundstage and most importantly punchy but tight bass. EQ options are a must.

Thank you guys, stay safe!

Jan 28, 2018 at 9:47 AM Post #2 of 8
Hi, the same situation for me. Have T5P 2nd with dx50 and looking for some improvement. Thinking of Cayin N5II too. Maybe this is the best solution. But how is Cayin N5II with T5P 2nd playing together???

Jan 28, 2018 at 11:31 AM Post #3 of 8
I just went through this process, I also had the Hiby 6 and Sony zx300 on the list. I don’t have the T5p but I do use a pair of T90s which have a the strong Beyer house sound, plus Elears and Andromedas.