Can someone clear this up for me?
Sep 14, 2007 at 11:25 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 28

Xoen

100+ Head-Fier
Alright, I'm fairly new to this whole headphone audiophile thing, and I even bought my first headphone amp, the Little Dot II++ just back in July of this year as well as some other audio equipment, as a result of being here in Head-fi.

Now my question is, is there supposed to be a noticeable sound difference when plugging some headphones (my AD700's) directly from a sound source and plugging it into an amp? I mean, when I plug my phones into a source to study the sound a little bit, then hook it up to my amp from that source and plug in my phones to that amp, is there supposed to be a difference? Because my somewhat untrained ears don't really notice it. Unless AT headphones don't scale dramatically to amps as opposed to most Sennheisers as far as I heard and seen. Can anyone fill me in on this? You guys know your stuff. Enlighten me.

Sep 14, 2007 at 11:34 PM Post #2 of 28
From my (somewhat limited mind you) knowledge on this, I think it is most likely to do with what way you are connecting the source and amp. Going from headphone out to amp to headphone will likely just allow you to increase the volume and not change the sound much. Going from a specific line out bypasses some of the onboard stuff to get a cleaner signal which the amp can then work better with to make the over all effect more noticable

Again, this is what I have picked up and may not be accurate, so if I'm wrong I'm sorry
smily_headphones1.gif

Sep 15, 2007 at 12:39 AM Post #3 of 28
My first question was- What's your source. Seems you list a Sony PS3? I'm not familiar with that.

It might depend on your source. If there's nothing for the amp to amplify then the amp won't make a difference.

The object of the amp is to resolve every tiny bit of detail your source provides and if your source isn't providing a lot of detail then an amp isn't going to help.

Mitch