Can "Gain Setting" change SQ?
Sep 13, 2008 at 7:41 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

jaggerQR

New Head-Fier
I know "Gain Setting" is to change gain in accordance with impedance of IEMs or cans. Well, my questions is... is there SQ difference between "Gain High" and "Gain Low" setting? I mean, "Gain High & Volume Low" vs "Gain Low & Volume High" with the same IEM.

Sep 14, 2008 at 6:04 AM Post #2 of 22
That's a great question.

I'm new to this but I'll share my experience. I have been using my Corda 2 Move for a while now with my iPod through ALO LOD to my Atrio m5s. It has always been on "High Gain" and this past weekend I decided to switch it to "Low Gain" to see what would happen.

One huge benefit is greater volume control. I no longer have to worry about tweaking the knob too much or too little since there's a wider range now. (Knob used to sit at 9 o'clock and now it's closer to 12). The other is that the bass has seemed to become more well defined. It could be just me but the past few days I've noticed cleaner, punchy bass coming from my Atrios.

Could it be that, since the volume knob is now less sensitive, I'm using a volume level that I couldn't really 'get to' before? Possibly. But I'm definitely not going back to "High Gain", that's for sure!

Scott

Sep 14, 2008 at 3:25 PM Post #3 of 22
This has been discussed before with no clear cut answer. Partly because the testers did not use dB meter to match volumes accurately.

I would argue that if you match the volumes you will find that the sound is the same, provided you can get the same level in low vs high gain settings.
wink.gif

Sep 14, 2008 at 3:46 PM Post #4 of 22
I am also worried...i think it affects the Dynamic Range. u no longer feel the punch.

I keep it to 80%...90% causes distortion in iTunes

Sep 15, 2008 at 1:29 AM Post #5 of 22