Can anyone help me identify what "type" of Millet hybrid Max I have?
May 23, 2009 at 7:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

reorx

100+ Head-Fier
Hello,

A preface first, I am a complete and utter NOOB when it comes to DIY and its parts. I have no idea what brand of tubes im using, what power supply type, etc. My knowledge regarding DIY and the parts of an amp are ZERO. That said...

Ive been the proud and satisfied owner of a Millet Hybrid Max done by a local diy-er (Hi Ferds), and so satisfied I am with it ive never felt the need to upgrade my amp (only my cans lol). I bought it knowing it was a quality DIY amp, with head-fi stamp of approval. Thats it.

After reading some thread, I found out that there a A LOT of sub types of Millett Hybrid Maxes, with one poster asking:

You didn't give much details about the configuration of your Millett Hybrid Maxed:
1. BJT or MOSFET diamond buffer?
2. Bypass caps?
3. Output coupling caps?
4. Output resistors?
5. CCS?
6. Bias current?

I believe someone was able to identify most if not all these questions by looking at the pics and innards of the amp.

Well, the amp I bought was specifically this:

Millett MAX Gallery

Can anybody help me answer the above questions...and maybe translate them into noob-speak as to what they mean in terms of performance, sound, and overall quality? By overall quality, I also mean, will a switch to, say a Woo3, or DV 332, or (most likely) an Audio-GD C2C be an upgrade or more of a lateral move?

Thanks in advance people!

May 23, 2009 at 8:05 PM Post #2 of 4
Quote:

Originally Posted by reorx /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Hello,

A preface first, I am a complete and utter NOOB when it comes to DIY and its parts. I have no idea what brand of tubes im using, what power supply type, etc. My knowledge regarding DIY and the parts of an amp are ZERO. That said...