Cambridge Audio CD4SE/Marantz CD67SE
Aug 1, 2001 at 3:11 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

joelongwood

Keeper of the 'Phones
Anybody familiar with these players? They received very good/excellent reviews a few years ago when they were introduced. As I'm just beginning to get into the source phase of this hobby, I was wondering if these would be worth seeking out. I try to buy pre-owned (used), and not worry too much about depreciation. Do you think there have been a lot of sonic improvements in these mid-fi type players($300-500 price range) over the past 2 or 3 years?

Aug 1, 2001 at 5:28 AM Post #2 of 12
Quote:

Originally posted by joelongwood
Anybody familiar with these players? They received very good/excellent reviews a few years ago when they were introduced. As I'm just beginning to get into the source phase of this hobby, I was wondering if these would be worth seeking out. I try to buy pre-owned (used), and not worry too much about depreciation. Do you think there have been a lot of sonic improvements in these mid-fi type players($300-500 price range) over the past 2 or 3 years?

I've had a CD67SE for many years. It is a great player, and is what I used in my family room for a long time. Unfortunately it crapped out, but only after thousands of hours of use. As for sonic improvments over the last couple years, I'd say not. Hell, us tube heads scour the earth in search of vintage valves from the 1950s!! But I digress... One thing to consider is how well a given player will perform as a *transport* rather than a player because you *will*, and I mean will, eventually find yourself craving an outboard DAC. Make sure that whatever you get has a digital COAX output. Optical sucks. Good luck.
smily_headphones1.gif

BTW, a Rega Planet can be picked up for sub $400 on the used market now that the new 2000 model is out. Now THERE is a player to get.

Brian.

Aug 1, 2001 at 6:41 PM Post #3 of 12
Quote: