Bose Cinemate GS II vs Onkyo ls3100 vs Sound bars
Sep 10, 2013 at 8:08 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

vinx1127

New Head-Fier
Hi Guys,

I'm currently browsing Bose Cinemate GS II and Onkyo ls3100 and would like to know more about these by getting some inputs from the members here. I'm really new to this kind of stuff and would really appreciate any recommendation/advice

I will use this mainly for watching tv or movies and i will place it in my SMALL room. I am currently renting which is why i prefer smaller speaker without too much hassle on the wiring. So if in case i plan to move out, it would be easier to set it up again.

I know there are far better speakers out there given the price range of Bose but I my main consideration are the space and the easiness of setup.

Also, what do you think about sound bars? I'm also interested with Sony HT-CT660 but i'm not sure how does it perform.

Would be interested for other alternatives though.

My budget would be $700.

Thanks Guys!

Sep 11, 2013 at 1:21 AM Post #2 of 5
" . . . but i'm not sure how does it perform."

But you said at the beginning you don't care about the fact that Bose are not good performers for the price. Sounds like you really do care about performance :)

If you want simple setup and a soundbar would be OK, I suggest researching and asking questions over at the AVS soundbar forum. They could certainly help you out.

Otherwise, setting up separates that are not one package is not rocket science--you can learn how to do it in ten minutes, and you would get much better performance for your money. You could even go with powered monitors that are easy to setup. These Rokit 6 monitors would likely have as much bass as that Bose setup--without having to get a sub.

Sep 17, 2013 at 4:50 PM Post #3 of 5
I am not sure if this will help...