Beyerdynamic dt 990 pro help, trouble handing bass?
Nov 23, 2013 at 12:58 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

photorph

New Head-Fier
Hello all, i've been reading around the forums a lot.  I'm a newbie to the audio world.  I own bose qc 15s and Philips SHE3590.  

After reading around this forum I learned bose are actually supposed to be bad sound quality wise.  After doing a lot of research, I settled on buying the beyerdynamic dt 990 pro 250 ohm.  

I wanted these headphones for listening at home to music and watching movies.  I listen to music from all genres, bust mostly hip hop and rock.  I also wanted to use the headphones for watching movies.  I like headphones that have a lot of oomph bass wise, that's what really makes you feel like you are in the movie.  

I am using these headphones out of either iMac or macbook pro (latest models), or iPad/iphone.  I have a Fiio E11 amp on the way, although my computer and iPhone was able to power these to an acceptable volume level.

Here is my question...These headphones don't sound as good to me as the $8 in ear philips she3590 or even bose qc 15 sound better.  The beyerdynamic dt990 pro is having trouble handling bass and it cracks and distorts even when it isn't turned up too loud.  This is what I used as a bass test

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tkzCImjl58

My bose qc 15 and she3590 can handle it fine, but the dt990 pros crack and distort.  

This is what I used as just a normal test to compare the 3 headphones I have

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D-h6MoF7HLA

Honestly, the $8 philips sounded the best.  Couldn't tell much of a difference between bose and dt990 pro.  Am I missing something?  The volume isn't an issue so I don't think an amp will solve the problem.  

​Thanks for any help and excuse my ignorance for being a newbie.  

Nov 23, 2013 at 3:52 PM Post #2 of 11
Hi,