Best way to record onto iPod?
Jul 16, 2008 at 4:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

funch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Posts
2,038
Likes
227
Location
Au Canyon
Man, I thought figuring out women was hard, this is worse. I just got a 4G iPod from the For Sale forums with the intent to get it iMod'ed (by Vinnie or maybe DIY). This is my first foray into the digital world. I've been looking around, but can't seem to find the system to use to get the highest quality recording on an iPod.

I looked into FLAC (like I really know what that is), but as near as I can tell, it doesn't support the iPod, or vice versa. Anyway, what I really need here is to be pointed in direction so I can start learning how all this works. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
 
Jul 16, 2008 at 4:51 AM Post #2 of 11

davidhunternyc

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Posts
1,993
Likes
27
There is this thread that's called, "Apple Lossless vs. WAV". Check it out. I say go with Apple Lossless if you have a MAC at home. The reason for it is long but if you read the thread, I think it will help.
 
Jul 16, 2008 at 5:10 AM Post #5 of 11

omegaman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Posts
1,728
Likes
11
I use the itune program to rip my CDs but make sure you change the settings to apple lossless if you want the best quality. I personally find this the easiest to use.
 
Jul 16, 2008 at 9:04 AM Post #6 of 11

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
74
Apple Lossless (ALAC) is the obvious choice for an iPod.
* Its lossless (as the name say).
* Supported by the stock iPod firmware.
* Supported by iTunes.
 
Jul 16, 2008 at 3:53 PM Post #7 of 11

funch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Posts
2,038
Likes
227
Location
Au Canyon
Quote:

Originally Posted by omegaman /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I use the itune program to rip my CDs but make sure you change the settings to apple lossless if you want the best quality. I personally find this the easiest to use.


Ah, easiest! My favorite.

Thanks to all who replied. I think I'm on my way.
 
Jul 17, 2008 at 3:51 AM Post #8 of 11

roebeet

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Posts
577
Likes
18
Voice of dissent, here. For a 4G, you can also try Rockbox (www.rockbox.org). It's pretty stable on a 4G. And, on a 4G color, it will even allow video playback. Plus a lot of other stuff (including FLAC). It's dual-bootable too, so you can use have both the RB and the Apple firmware. I also think the SQ is better on RB, at least to my ears.

It really depends on what you're looking to use it for - if you are hard set on ALAC + iTunes, then the standard firmware is fine. But, I think Rockbox is well worth trying.
 
Jul 17, 2008 at 3:57 AM Post #9 of 11

funch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Posts
2,038
Likes
227
Location
Au Canyon
Well, I had tried the Rockbox before, but the download is a Zip file, which my computer couldn't open. So, I downloaded the trial Winzip and tried that. All I got for my troubles was a zillion useless files related to Rockbox, but no program. I'm sure I did something wrong, so I guess Rockbox is just plain out of my 'computer skills' league.
 
Aug 13, 2008 at 6:54 AM Post #11 of 11

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
74
Quote:

Originally Posted by roebeet /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Sorry for the late reply on this - there's a GUI Rockbox installer that works for the 4G (and runs on Windows / Linux / OSX). I used it on my 4G greyscale and the install was a piece of cake.

Link: RockboxUtility < Main < TWiki



Nice!
smily_headphones1.gif

Installing Rockbox from Mac OS X have been a pain in the butt. So great to see that there are now a GUI available for the task.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top