Best Tuning Materials
Aug 7, 2022 at 4:36 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

BCool

100+ Head-Fier
What are some good materials to help tune a headphone? Are there specific kinds of foam that most people use, and how do you keep them in place? I know cotton wool is useful for increasing bass for instance, do different densities of foam have an appreciable effect on FR?

Apologies if these are basic questions, I'm a bit of noob when it comes to DIY/modding.

Any help is appreciated, thank you.

Aug 7, 2022 at 6:27 PM Post #2 of 6
What are some good materials to help tune a headphone? Are there specific kinds of foam that most people use, and how do you keep them in place? I know cotton wool is useful for increasing bass for instance, do different densities of foam have an appreciable effect on FR?

Apologies if these are basic questions, I'm a bit of noob when it comes to DIY/modding.

Any help is appreciated, thank you.
There is a lot of info on the Fostex TR50rp tuning forum. E.g.
http://www.head-fi.org/t/452404/just-listened-to-some-fostex-t50rps-today-wow/10995#post_11321413

I used plastercine, adhesive felt, cotton balls etc…. It’s good fun.

Aug 7, 2022 at 6:32 PM Post #3 of 6
fo.q tape works really well for reigning in resonance and vibration.

Aug 7, 2022 at 9:32 PM Post #4 of 6
I've done a lot of tuning with different stuff, diyaudioheaven does measurements of them which is helpful. The Hifiman packing foam sheets are nice to cut for lifting the veil on a Sennheiser like the 58x. Best way is hold it up to a light to compare how dense it is. If it's too bright then a denser foam helps sometimes to avoid eq.
The plies of toilet paper helps take brightness down, but it works like a comb filter and reflects it back, not absorbs it. A hobby or cloth shop like Joanne Fabrics has a lot of different ones. It's easy to just take the foam out, then temporarily slide different cutouts in to listen for the sound your after before committing.