Best solution for 3D surround audio via Headphones (Atmos/Spatial Audio/Tempest Audio etc.) in 2022
Mar 4, 2022 at 10:18 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

Jepjep

New Head-Fier
I am looking for the best way to enjoy Dolby Atmos or similar 3d/spatial surround sound on Apple TV 4K movies and series (70% of use) and PS5 games (15% of use) via headphones.

Ideally, I would put together a system that would be great for music as well (15% of use), and allow use of any high(ish)-end headphones, preferably open backed ones. So, the holy grail would be a headphone amp with Dolby Atmos for Headphones (and ideally compatibility with PS5:s 3d sound), at a reasonable price (lets say max 1k€) and a setup a layman can handle, but apparently such does not exist? Let alone one that would also include a dac (if needed) and streaming services built in, but these are not crucial.

Based on some serious web surfing, but as a complete beginner in the fields of home theaters / surround sound / headphones / hifi…, it seems like the options are:

Smyth Realiser A16
  • this would be ideal, as it would provide the ultimate 3d surround experience and also allow for use of any headphones, making it great for music as well. However, the price (4k€) is just too high, and just as importantly, the setup is too difficult. I also don’t know if this would work well with a PS5.

PC/Mac with Fongaudio, Dolby Atmos for Headphones, DTS Headphone:X…
  • This is not an option for me. Well, a Mac mini perhaps, but it probably gets too complicated for living room use for the whole family (a dedicated home theater is in the early planning stages as well, and there it might be a viable option, but that is a separate matter). And this probably wouldn’t help with PS5?

Xbox Series X with Dolby Atmos for Headphones