Best portable DAC/AMP around 200€?
Feb 27, 2020 at 1:06 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

carpler

100+ Head-Fier
Hi!
After considering the purchase of a good DAP with good streaming features (but low budget!), I thought of using my current mobile phone as a source and buying a good DAC/AMP (as suggested in the above thread).

The DAC / AMP I am looking for I would like it to have these characteristics.
1) best possible audio quality (considering also the price range)
2) easy connection with mobile phone via usb (Bluetooth is a good option that I don't mind, but I prefer the wired connection)
3) Support MQA files, since I have a Tidal subscription

Here is the list of the 3 models that perhaps are currently the best choices in my price range.
[For every model I reported some tecnical data and the indicative price in my country]

Fiio BTR5
DAC: ES9218Px2
Bluetooth: 5.0 Qualcomm CSR8675
Output power: 3.5 80mW / 2.5 bal 240mW
MQA: no
Battery life: up to 9h (SE output) (550 mAh)
Price: 115€

Shanling UP4
DAC: ES9218Px2
Bluetooth: 5.0 Qualcomm CSR8675
Output power: 3.5 91mW / 2.5 bal 160mW
MQA: no
Battery life: up to 15h (SE output) (550 mAh)
Price: 95€

iFi Hip-Dac
DAC: Burr Brown
Bluetooth: no
Output power: 3.5 280mW / 4.4 bal 400mWmW
MQA: yes
Battery life: up to 12h (SE output) (2200mAh)
Price: 180€

The first two ones are very similar for tecnical specification and I read several comparison between this models.
What I miss most in the Fiio and Shanling models is the lack of MQA support (I have not yet figured out if it is a hardware limit or software side).
The Hip-Dac got MQA support, but it lacks in other features (like bluetooth), got a price a little higher and I don't know about sound quality (I haven't read many reviews about it yet).

What do you recommend? Do you have other models to suggest? I can also raise my budget, but not too much ...

Feb 27, 2020 at 2:54 PM Post #2 of 2