Best PCI soundcard for grado sr-80?
Jan 2, 2006 at 10:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 28

sinetwo

Head-Fier
Hi there,

couldn't find a good thread about this so I reckon i should just ask. I'm not good with hifi nor do i know a lot about it, but I know for cetrain that grado sr-80 delivers better quality than my koss ur-40
smily_headphones1.gif

Currently I only have a shuttle with the integrated sound card and it's not of the best quality to say the least...

I'm thinking of getting a pair of grado sr-80 and the yellow ear coushins aswell. However, i've heard they're quite hard to run, so i was thinking of buying a pci soundcard to match them.

Are there any RECOMMENDED soundcards for both gaming and music for the grado sr-80? Or would i have to buy a soundcard and an amp aswell? If I do need an amp and a soundcard, what would be the best budget setup? Please bear in mind that i also have a 2.1 system that I use when i dont use headphones
580smile.gif

Thank you for the time, and I'm sorry if this has been discussed before.
SineTwo
(and also i'd like to take the time to welcome myself to the forum aswell, hopefully it'll be an enjoyable experience when i decide to get what i want
k1000smile.gif
)

Jan 3, 2006 at 3:54 AM Post #3 of 28
m-audio revolution 5.1 or creative x-fi are your best choices without an amp.

Jan 3, 2006 at 4:03 AM Post #4 of 28
Go for the X-Fi. It actually sounds kinda good paired with my RS-1 unamped. The X-Fi (Music, the $130 one) doesn't have very good treble extension, the bass is a bit boomy and uncontrolled, and the mids are run of the mill, but it does sound good for the price. It will properly drive Grados to more than deafening levels, and is the best thing out there for games. Plus, Creative's drivers have much improved since the Audigy era.

Jan 3, 2006 at 4:21 AM Post #5 of 28