Best non-portable amp for <$150 ??
Mar 30, 2006 at 9:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

egglick

New Head-Fier
Hey guys, I'm new to head-fi, and I'm about to start setting up my first decent headphone system. I haven't bought a pair of cans yet (I was hoping to do some listening tests soon), but I'm trying to get everything else in order first.

I've got about $150 to spend on an amp, and I'm not going to be using it on any portable players. My source is a Klipsch DD-5.1 decoder/preamp, hooked up to the digital out on my Audigy2ZS. I'm mainly going to be listening to Mp3's and Mpc's, ripped from my own CDs and encoded at the highest settings.

I'd like to get the best all-around amp in that range, as I listen to many different types of music, including classical, new age, orchestra, etc.

Mar 30, 2006 at 11:13 PM Post #2 of 20
get the cans first and then decide if you need an amp
smily_headphones1.gif

edit: Also, The search is your friend

type in $150 and amp in the amp forum and you will get lot's o' threads!

Mar 31, 2006 at 9:45 AM Post #3 of 20
Wouldn't it be bad for my preamp to be powering higher end headphones?? It does do a very good job with my cheap pair (albeit with a limited volume range), but I was always under the impression that preamp/decoders were for converting signals, not for powering speakers.

In the few other threads which I've read, all of the amps recommended seem to be portable versions for ipods and such. Common sense tells me that performance is usually sacrificed in order to make something portable, which is why I made this thread specifying non-portable.

Mar 31, 2006 at 1:48 PM Post #4 of 20
Unfortunately, most non portable amps cost more than $150. I hate to be one of those people who says, "it's out of your budget, but you should look at the $300 Gilmore Lite", but that is the one that gets recommended the most for best bang for the buck. Even though it is one of the cheapest non portables, it is hardly the bottom of the barrel.