Best headphones when Isolation is issue #1?
Mar 12, 2010 at 3:30 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

Chu

1000+ Head-Fier
I work as a programmer in possibly the worst environment. I am surrounded by people who need to talk all day as part of their job, with TVs on in the background that need to be on.

I also cannot stand the physical comfort of IEMs.

I am looking for the headphones with the best possible isolation with decent sound quality -- without an amp. The last time I was around the GMP 8.35 D's seemed to be the best fit, but it was hard to shake the FOTM feeling from the thread.

Are these still the best option? I am willing to give up a lot for any better degree of isolation. My budget is around $400 but can bring more to the table if necessary.

Mar 12, 2010 at 3:50 AM Post #4 of 22
Unfortunately comparing isolation of different phones is really hard to do. Most people on head-fi only comment about isolation in the abstract (except for IEMs) and specs can be hard to find. Finding stores that have a wide enough selection to do a direct comparison would be almost impossible.

What I'm really hoping is that someone around here has already been down this path and what the results were. I'd love to get direct comparisons of any phones mentioned in this thread.

Oh, and in case I didn't make it clear, the frequencies I have to block out are pretty much all human voices.

Mar 12, 2010 at 4:20 AM Post #5 of 22
HD280s (HD380s)

I use these are work because my HD595s are in the shop for repair.

At normal listening volumes I have missed my phone several times, and I cannot tell if people in the hallway are talking unless they are talking at above average volumes.

Mar 12, 2010 at 4:38 AM Post #8 of 22