Best headphones for musical genre?
Jul 24, 2003 at 2:29 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

swenzke

New Head-Fier
Hello everyone, here's yet another, "best headphone for __ category" thread. I've done some research on the headphones I'm looking for already, but what I'm looking for seems inconclusive. Anyway, here goes.

One thing to note, I'm an audiophile newbie, and I have relatively untrained ears. Also, I'm not too knowledgable about the terminology, although I'm getting there
smily_headphones1.gif

First off the price tag is under $200, although if the quality will be much better for a higher price, I'm willing to hear suggestions. My taste in music varies greatly, so the type of headphones will have to be versatile. 80% of the time I'll be listening to broadway type music (orchestrations, vocals, etc.) and rap (great combination, huh?). The other 20% will be pop/metal/etc. I also own the Sony MDR-D66s, which I am somewhat happy about, although I'm not satisfied with the bass they produce, how much music they keep to yourself, and the separation of the vocals and music in broadway songs. Granted, I may be wrong about some of these, but this just comes from my experiences.

I will also be using these headphones for gaming, although not as extensively as listening to music. Like I said, versatility is key. I will not be using an amp with these either, as I said before, I have untrained ears, so I don't think spending tons of money on an amp will really help me notice a difference.

The headphones will be used with a 3rd gen. iPod for portable use, and for my gaming setup, I'll plug them into the headphone jack of my Klipsch 2.1 Pro medias (which are connected to the sound part of my Asus P4PE motherboard).