Best amp for HD580
Oct 5, 2006 at 7:45 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

oddball5733

New Head-Fier
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the head-fi community and I just recently purchased a pair of HD580's. I've still yet to receive them in the mail and I eagerly await their arrival. I want to buy an Amp for my awesome phones, but I'm still a little unsure as to what to purchase. My price range is around the $100-150 area, so i was looking at the little dot II+. Is this well sync'd with my headphones. Your advice would be much appreciated. thanks

-Ariel

Oct 5, 2006 at 10:19 PM Post #2 of 16
Not sure what would be the best amp but a X-CanV3 would not sound bad.

The X-CanV3 is a well designed amp and looks nice too!

http://www.musicalfidelity.com/produ...lx/xcanv3.html

227553247_4aa237d5ed_o.jpg

Oct 6, 2006 at 7:43 AM Post #3 of 16
hmmm, for $100-150, you have several options:
1) pint
2) little dot 2
3) used perreuax shx-1
4) home-vibe
5) maybe a used head-five?
6) and probably others i cant think of right now, but which is a better option for the hd580, well i think i will let others voice their opinion on that
smily_headphones1.gif

Ill be the first to say it, welcome to head-fi, sorry about your wallet! HA

Oct 6, 2006 at 7:46 AM Post #4 of 16
The PINT is good.

Oct 6, 2006 at 8:14 AM Post #5 of 16
I think the X-Can is out of your price range. You can barely get a millet in that price range, maybe a stuffed fully functional board.

But yeah I really like my millet with the HD580. Warm and groovy enough, yet speedy and detailed enough too, but its probably out of your price range.

Im going to recommend a pimeta, with an AD823. Nice to have the ability to roll OP amps.

Watch out with the HD580 and inexpensive tube amps... If you pick the wrong tubes it can get very muddy and conjested, IMHO.

Oct 6, 2006 at 8:40 AM Post #6 of 16
Quote:

Originally Posted by kramer5150