Bel Canto 3 and Stello DA220/100
Nov 23, 2008 at 1:10 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

Andrew_WOT

Headphoneus Supremus
Did anyone compare too? Judging by pictures Canto's enclosure looks kind of empty inside, yet priced higher than Stello. Is is truly a step up from Stello or just slightly different flavor of the same tier DAC?
What would be a step up from Stello under 2k, preferably with USB support?

Nov 23, 2008 at 2:48 AM Post #2 of 11
I have no experience with the Stello. I do have a DAC3 and I love it.

I read a lot of reviews before I got the DAC3 (the Stereophile Measurements are especially enlightening) and I never got the impression there wasn't much in the box, there are two separate power supplies and the box is very heavy (at least compared to a Benchmark DAC1).

Good luck with the picking. Maybe look at the new Bryston DAC which looks interesting as well, (2 PS too but per channel instead of digital/analog).

Nov 23, 2008 at 4:14 AM Post #3 of 11
Thanks for your reply, I was actually eyeballing this guy http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f7/abr...v6-dac-375569/
Not sure though if getting one in States will be easy, on Bel Canto side, I've heard both positive and negative comments, I really like Stello and looking for upgrade, not side step or insignificant improvement.

Nov 23, 2008 at 8:12 PM Post #5 of 11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Andrew_WOT /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Thanks for your reply, I was actually eyeballing this guy http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f7/abr...v6-dac-375569/
Not sure though if getting one in States will be easy, on Bel Canto side, I've heard both positive and negative comments, I really like Stello and looking for upgrade, not side step or insignificant improvement.

I am strongly in the FAN catagory.

Well I can't say that it's better than the Stello (because I've never heard one) but I can say that I've heard the following and it's better than them:

Meridian G08
Transporter
Giant CD that was at Florida meet feeding the luxman