Beginner headphones for Study Music (Folk / Ambient / Post Rock / Instrumental)?
Dec 13, 2012 at 1:48 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

Noobphone

New Head-Fier
Hey guys,

I'm looking to get into audiophile level sound. I mostly listen to post rock (Do Make Say Think, GSY!BE, Mogwai, etc.), warm-sounding folky stuff (Jose Gonzalez, Elliot Smith), and ambient and low-key electronica (Beef Terminal, Hint, Helios). Basically anything low-key and not distracting since I am a student.

From what I have read Grados would be good with this kind of music, but I think the open design would be a problem for studying in a library. I have heard that ATH M50 would be a great all-rounder and is closed, but that it maybe underperforms for the kind of music I listen to?

Basically I'm lost, and the more I read the more confused I get.

My price range would be under $200, and for the near future I would be mostly listening from an unamped iPod. Ideally this would be something sturdy and portable enough to fit into a bag.

Thanks so much for any help!

Dec 13, 2012 at 8:30 PM Post #3 of 11
Quote:
Hey guys,

I'm looking to get into audiophile level sound. I mostly listen to post rock (Do Make Say Think, GSY!BE, Mogwai, etc.), warm-sounding folky stuff (Jose Gonzalez, Elliot Smith), and ambient and low-key electronica (Beef Terminal, Hint, Helios). Basically anything low-key and not distracting since I am a student.

From what I have read Grados would be good with this kind of music, but I think the open design would be a problem for studying in a library. I have heard that ATH M50 would be a great all-rounder and is closed, but that it maybe underperforms for the kind of music I listen to?

Basically I'm lost, and the more I read the more confused I get.

My price range would be under $200, and for the near future I would be mostly listening from an unamped iPod. Ideally this would be something sturdy and portable enough to fit into a bag.

Thanks so much for any help!

Heya,