automatic input switching
Nov 13, 2008 at 2:50 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

rembrant

100+ Head-Fier
I have recently been enlisted by my father to build a switching device for his motorcycle communications. He wishes to have such a device that will switch inputs from his MP3 player to his radio communication when he receives communication over his radio.

I have a few ideas about how this should work. However, I'm looking for some suggestions about what types of components I should use. Indeed this solution should be small and have minimal if no impact on sound quality.

I'm basically stuck. I have limited knowledge of this type of switching and I can't help but think that any device I come up with will not switch fast enough.

All Ideas are welcome.

Nov 13, 2008 at 3:28 PM Post #2 of 10
sounds like a 'vox' circuit (see 'ham radio').

you have a few inputs and you need to convert the ac signal to some 'sticky' dc switchable signal. then you have all those input signals that need to be priority selected (in case there are multiple 'hits' on the input lines). ie, if 2 inputs have audio active on them at the same time.

in your case, it sounds like the walkie-talkie thing would always take prio, so that would 'interrupt' the mp3 player, always, no exceptions, right?

Nov 13, 2008 at 6:25 PM Post #3 of 10
My car bluetooth gizmo mutes the radio/cdp when I receive a call.

there should be some sort of audio signal auto sensing IC in the market, maybe if you search in TI's, national and other IC companies for this. Most of them have easy to use search functions.

Google is your friend too!
wink.gif

Manuel

Nov 13, 2008 at 7:15 PM Post #4 of 10
Quote:

Originally Posted by linuxworks /img/forum/go_quote.gif
sounds like a 'vox' circuit (see 'ham radio').