Audio quality versus compression, the true Audiophile's format.
May 9, 2003 at 1:56 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

cyberhazard

100+ Head-Fier
Bare with me on this, I am new to portable MP3 players and to these forums.

I have a basic understanding of the MP3 format and I think the higher the Kbps the better the sound. I also suspect Audible(6) is not for music.
My portable MP3 player supports these formats. ACC (16 to 320 Kbps), MP3 (32 to 320 Kbps), MP3 VBR, Audible(6), AIFF, and WAV.

My question is this. Of these formats, which is the best in High-Fi? How do these formats rate, best to worst as far as sound quality. Right now
my music library is all 128 or 196 Kbps MP3's. If I want to increase the audio quality of my library, can I just change Kbps to 320 or should I
re-rip them from the CD's?

I am thinking of getting a set of Ety ER-4p's and I would rather have 1,000 extra crispy sounding tunes compared to 3,000 tunes that sound
like 8-track tapes.

Thanks

May 9, 2003 at 2:18 PM Post #2 of 11
You're not going to be able to re-rip a recording at a lower bit rate into a higher bit rate. Information once lost isn't coming back. To increase the sampling bitrate, you're going to have to re-rip from the original CD's.

The.wav format is best, purely in terms of sound quality, as it's a lossless conversion from CD Audio. There are a few lossless compression schemes in the works, include .ape, .shn, and Ogg Vorbis (IIRC). These occupy a lot more space than a lossy compression file, and no portable players support them AFAIK.

To avoid reripping, you might want to rip to wave. Use a lossless scheme to store the file on pc, and play there if there's a player plugin that supports it. Convert wave to the highest quality lossy format you can find. When better formats appear, you can always reconvert the lossless compressed file back to wave and resample in the format du jour, without having to rerip.

May 9, 2003 at 2:44 PM Post #3 of 11