Attention DIY gurus. SPEAKER OUT to power Sennheiser HD580s Fatman itube red-i ? Thanks
Jul 16, 2009 at 4:56 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

mplee79

100+ Head-Fier
I recently purchased a Fatman I-red itube: Link: Fatman iTube Red-i with Speakers

This amp does not provide a headphone jack and only really has speaker outputs. Is there anyway to rewire my Sennheiser HD580 so that I can power them with this amp? Specifically, i was wondering if there was an adapter to connect my headphones to the speaker output?

Is this even advisable given the specs of the amp?

* Power Output: 25Wx2
* Frequency Response: 20Hz - 20KHz (±1.5Db)
* Harmonic Distortion: ≤0.5%
* Signal-To-Noise Ratio: ≥86Db
* Input Impedance: 100KΩ
* Output Impedance: 4Ω, 8Ω
* Valve Type: 2x6N1(ECC85)
* 1x6E2(EM87)
* Power Supply: AC100~120V/50~60Hz, AC220~240V/50~60Hz
* Dimensions: Amp: 450x220x210 mm ( WxHxD), Speaker: 330x315x210 mm ( WxHxD)
* Weight: Amp: 5.8kgs, Speaker: 6.8kgs

I am a total noobie to DIY projects so any part numbers would be greatly appreciated. I don't know where to get the cables to actually connect my headphone male out 2.5mm to the speaker out.

Thanks

Jul 16, 2009 at 5:02 PM Post #2 of 13
Just make an adapter...

Buy a 1/4 inch stereo jack and wire it up with some speaker cabling with separate ground wires for the two channels and hook it up the amplifier output and plug in your headphones.

I use my Sansui AU-217 with the Wharfedale ID1s using such an adapter..

Jul 16, 2009 at 5:09 PM Post #3 of 13
So the connection would be:

headphone--->1/4 inch stereo jack---->speaker cabling---->hook into speaker output?

I don't really understand what you mean by "separate ground wire"

Sorry for the total lack of knowledge. I have been hovering over google for a number of hours and have yet to find an answer =(

thanks

Jul 16, 2009 at 5:17 PM Post #4 of 13
yep..that's the chain.