ATH - A500 (closed) vs. D66 Eggo, please help me decide
Nov 24, 2003 at 4:15 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

sporky

Head-Fier
Hi,

I posted a little while ago about finding a more comfortable/lighter replacement for my HD 280's. Thanks to the very helpful replies that I got, I've decided to get either the ATH A500 or the D66 Eggo. For those of you who didn’t see my last topic, I'm a college student looking for an extremely comfortable set of cans with great sound and a closed design. I will be using my headphones with my computer (which has a turtle beach santa cruz card). Portability is always a plus, but is not necessary.

While the HD 280 does well in the isolation and sound categories, I find them to be way too uncomfortable and heavy on the top of my head. From what I can gather, the A500 is about as heavy as the HD 280, which worries me somewhat. I have no doubt that the D66 is one of the most comfortable set of headphones out there, but how do they compare to the A500 in terms of sound and comfort? My price range is probably $150 tops (Christmas is coming soon, so I can expect a few checks from relatives
cool.gif
), so I might be willing to go for the A700 if it is worth the extra cash.

Lastly, are there any other choices that might be worth looking into?

Thanks!

Nov 24, 2003 at 4:21 AM Post #2 of 5
Quote:

but how do they compare to the A500 in terms of sound and comfort?

Ok, I've got both of them, bought them both from Audiocubes...

1st: The A500s are far more comfortable, albeit more likely to fall off...they are "loose"

2nd: The A500s have a much warmer, richer sound with gobs of bass to throw around.

3rd: The A500 has a 3m cord, which is like 10ft, whereas the D66 only has a 1.5m or so cable...I dunno, so it's not exactly home-able.

I don't think anybody has listened to the A700.

Nov 24, 2003 at 5:41 AM Post #3 of 5
Ok, that's one vote for the A500.