Asus ST vs. STX (I'm not crazy, right?)
Jun 15, 2013 at 10:10 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

MrFahrenheit

New Head-Fier
Okay, so after reading a plethora of views and opinions and what not on the ST vs. STX, I find it hard to believe that some people say it is the same card.

I had the STX for about a week and I have enjoyed it thus far, but I feel like I'll be going the 2.1 route later on (after I get my Emo Airmotiv 5's), so I ordered the ST...

Straight away, the ST is different... I started playing some of the regular stuff I test with and WOW! Like the difference is DEFINITELY there.
The ST seems to separate things more than the STX and it seems like it accentuates the small details... Which is a good thing and a bad thing.
It's good because I'm rediscovering music and I'm hearing things I didn't before (weird, right? It's the same card...)
The bad thing about it is that the extra "detail" is overwhelming and quickly fatigues the ears... Which is unfortunate because hearing little details is amazing.

Any owners prefer one or the other?

EDIT: I've actually found a comparison. The ST sounds kinda like the HK 3940 Headphone amp. Interesting...

Jul 22, 2013 at 1:57 PM Post #2 of 9
The ST/STX is divided into two parts the one inside the EMI Shield is protecting the DAC and the AMP componentry  (Its not a real word :p) and the rest is all the power output components with the "Golden Nichicon caps" pretty much the audio  componentry  is exactly the same , only the output of the PCI VS PCI-E is different , so I think that may be placebo , remember when you are comparing audio equipment the interval between the switch must not exceed 5 seconds (Its Science) :D
Forget Science its the real way to test equipment :D

Jul 22, 2013 at 7:12 PM Post #3 of 9
Both are not the best choice for low impedance headphones, but the STX has afaik a higher output impedance. Output impedance can have a real effect on how a headphone sounds.