Anyone with law school experience?
Jan 2, 2009 at 11:22 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

rockin_amigo14

Headphoneus Supremus
I'm currently an undergraduate and considering going to law school after graduation.

I was wondering is there any real major a person should have if they are interested in law school? Right now I'm a double major in mass communications (focus in marketing) and acting, but I feel like those might be a bit irrelevant. What majors did you guys have?

Also, is following the Pre-law advising system that most schools seem to have useful? Or is it just a waste of time?

Any help or insight, even if not answering these questions, would be greatly appreciated.

Jan 3, 2009 at 3:43 AM Post #3 of 8
In my experience, nothing in undergrad prepares you for law school. Other post-grad studies are different, in the sense that many undergrad courses can help you get ready for med school, B school, or Masters work. Put another way, a lot of graduate work is a natural extension of undergrad work; not so law school. I had majors in history and polisci, minors in econ and foreign languages. In one sense, they all helped, but none of it got me ready for law school. The whole point of a good law school is to teach you how to think in a new and different way [leaving aside whether or not this is a god thing]. The best thing you can do I think is get a good liberal arts education. That depth will help you. I went to law school at the University of Chicago, and some of my most capable classmates were English and philosophy majors.

Good luck!

Jan 3, 2009 at 4:00 AM Post #4 of 8
Agree with Vcoheda. Then work like hell first semester. Grades are everything first year.

Jan 3, 2009 at 6:40 PM Post #5 of 8