Anybody got the Westone AC2's yet?
Apr 27, 2011 at 5:31 PM Post #4 of 6
I get my AC2s in one week.  I'll post an amateur review, since I have never done one before.  The reviews I've seen here at HeadFi make my head swim, they are so technical and detailed.  So I'll just talk about how my music (jazz, world, rock, reggae, classical) sounds.

What I've been researching while waiting is whether I'll benefit from getting a headphone amp?  I plan on listening to the line out of my iPods, and I'm reading wildly different opinions of whether to bother with an amp or not.  After spending $400+ for a set of headphones I want the best SQ I can get, without having to buy new players like the Cowon J3.

May 15, 2011 at 1:27 AM Post #5 of 6

Quote:
I get my AC2s in one week.  I'll post an amateur review, since I have never done one before.  The reviews I've seen here at HeadFi make my head swim, they are so technical and detailed.  So I'll just talk about how my music (jazz, world, rock, reggae, classical) sounds.

What I've been researching while waiting is whether I'll benefit from getting a headphone amp?  I plan on listening to the line out of my iPods, and I'm reading wildly different opinions of whether to bother with an amp or not.  After spending $400+ for a set of headphones I want the best SQ I can get, without having to buy new players like the Cowon J3.

Any update on your AC2? You must have an opinion by now...

May 15, 2011 at 1:48 AM Post #6 of 6
From Project86 (if you don't want to be quoted then let me know and i'll edit the post):

project86
Apr 28, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Hi,

Yes I've had the AC2 for about a month, still working on getting a review posted.

I like them a lot but they are probably not for everyone. In a nutshell, I think I recommend them above all similar priced customs but ONLY if:

You can tolerate some harshness/sibilance in the highs at times (similar to Westone 3)
You like your bass very weighty and full (also similar to W3)