Any help with an ultra portable Amp/DAC setup on a really tight budget?
Apr 22, 2017 at 5:05 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

CoolerCat

Head-Fier
Hello dear fellow Head-fi members,
(Caution: Long Post Ahead)

Jumping straight to the question, I'm looking for an ultra portable Amp/DAC combo unit to start me down the slippery audiophile road and ideally use with my Nexus 5.
It needs to be really small and pocketable, ideally just about the size of a matchbox or a flash drive. I'd also like it if it's battery-less but that's just my taste so correct me if I'm making a mistake. I just don't want to deal with constant recharging. One more thing, I'm on the tightest budget on the planet so it also has to be not more than 150 euro.

So far I've settled for two options:
Centrance DACport Slim and Audioquest Dragonfly Black. I'd really like to hear your opinions on these. Are they worth it or should I go with some cheaper version?
I am a total rookie as it comes to these things, though i've done some reading, and have never before actually tried anything else than my Nexus' build in solution (I imagine it's not really comparable). I am totally open to any suggestions you might have so long as i can afford it. I'd be most thankful if you wish to sell/trade/even gift me some gadget with the risk of losing money or even help me out with a potential fundraiser.

As I've explained, my budget is tight, in fact I'm limited to not more than 200-250 euro. I thought that most of my budget (like a good 150-200 euro) should go for a good Amp/DAC and the leftover (if any) towards a good pair of IEMs, since i'm and IEM person really and it also has to be portable. Please correct me if I'm about to make a mistake and spend some money on the IEMs or even eliminate the Amp/DAC from the equation and just stick with whatever is baked in my Nexus 5.