Another Lite DAC-Ah mod ....HDAMs....
Jul 18, 2006 at 4:18 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

sydneyaudio

100+ Head-Fier
Hi all,

Well after 6 months enjoying the DAC I thought it was time for an upgrade. My main complaint with the Lite DAC-Ah was occasional graininess in the lower treble - seems like a common problem. I have seen the passive output mod described on this forum, by all accounts it seems like a real fix. I also wasnted to see if I could improve the sound "quality" and that led me in a different direction. Opamp rolling with OP627/37 was suggested but then I stumbled on a local Australian site www.bursonaudio.com.

Anyway, I ended up purchasing a pair of their Hyperdynamic Amplification Modules (HDAMs) from ebay - the current quoted price is AU$85 for a pair. For a technical description of the HDAMs I suggest you visit their website.

Let me qualify this post by saying I am a real audio amateur! I dont know the proper audiophile ways of describing things but I will try my best to share my experience.

Firstly, fitting the HDAMs into the Lite DAC is a real bugger - they barely fit!! The whole DAC has to be pulled apart, top and bottom. I desoldered the OPA602s and directly soldered the HDAMs in their place. There was also a grounding wire for each HDAM. Iam sure people with better skills than me will find it easier.

I have a system of cheap components: Yamaha DVD C750 as transport (a multidisc universal player), Gecko coaxial cable, Lite DAC-Ah, Van den Hul interconnects, Marantz SR4400 HT amp, Senn HD600, and DB Dynamics Quantum speakers.

I used a variety of music: Beethoven symphonies (Barenboim), Metallica, Ella Fitzgerald (Cole Porter song book), Tabla beat science, Beuna Vista Social Club, etc.