Another Beta 22 lives
Dec 27, 2008 at 9:03 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Iniamyen

100+ Head-Fier
Well, I've continually felt like it's not *quite* ready for an official unveiling, but now it looks nice so I figured I'd post some pics of my Beta 22.

Single enclosure, SumR encapsulated transformer+s22+e22/B22, housed in a par-metal 16"x16"x4" alodine aluminum case, painted in Rustoleum "hammered black" =).
open.jpg

closed.jpg

The only things I am still missing are a knob for the volume pot (RK27 at the moment) and some nice, big, rubbery feet =)

Initial impressions with Sennheiser HD600's (even though I've been listening to it for about 2 months now waiting to get it cased up): I'm amazed at the overall detail, to the point where it's incredibly obvious that I need to get a new source, even though the Alien DAC that I've been using up to this point has held its own. I'm even more amazed at the low-end detail that's been missing from everything else... from Joni Mitchell's "Carey" to Ayreons "The Shooting Company of Captain Frans B. Cocq"... The other thing I really notice is the attack of instruments such as piano, cymbal, guitar, even bass drum, which I would attribute to the slew rate of the B22 without knowing anything better to say about it
biggrin.gif

I am noticing some mid-freq hum at higher volumes, however, this is only with the Alien DAC attached as a source, so this may be due to my computer or the DAC itself. With no source attached, it's absolutely silent aside from some hiss at very high (read: unlistenable) volumes, which I am convinced is due to my choice of cost-conscious volume control.

The main thing I'm still planning on doing is adding an e12 unit in front of the e22 board (once I get one working), but until then this baby's working fine.

Many kudos to Ti Kan and the community! I may be the last guy to make one but as far as I'm concerned it's the best sounding one constructed yet
biggrin.gif

Dec 27, 2008 at 9:25 PM Post #3 of 19