Amping Senn 280's?
Jan 30, 2005 at 11:23 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

quackattack

100+ Head-Fier
I'm fairly new to this whole headphone thing. I just got a pair of 280's and have been loving them. My question is, is it worth the $$ to buy an amp for them?

I know a lot of people think you need higher end phones to benefit from an amp. But my dilemma is this: I probably only have enough $$ for and amp or for new phones, not both. I don't want to get phones that require an amp (I was looking at 580's) and not be able to buy one.

So any thoughts? Should I get an amp for my 280's? Or is this a waste? Thanks guys!

Jan 31, 2005 at 7:10 PM Post #2 of 8
i think all phones benefit from an amp, though some more than others. i haven't heard the 280's amped, but the E2c is significantly more pleasing to my ear when run out of my Corda HA-1. the Senn 580/6x0 system is going to need an amp. if you are generally happy with your phones but want to upgrade in the future, i would suggest getting a nice little amp (if you get a portable amp i would suggest one that has an AC adaptor). it will make your upgrade path significantly smoother. personally, however, i think you should just be happy with your current phones, abandon the idea of an amp, and run away from this forum. your wallet will thank you, believe me
plainface.gif

Feb 1, 2005 at 7:13 AM Post #3 of 8
I feel the HD280 does benefit from an amp.

However, if you are limited in funds, you may want to consider spending the money on upgrading other areas of you setup. Many people here seem to recommend first upgrading your source, then headphones, followed by amp, with cables (IC and power) as an absolute last step.