Amp in combination with 0404 USB as DAC?
Aug 21, 2009 at 7:36 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

_jon

New Head-Fier
Hey, newbie here..

Recently acquired a E-MU 0404 USB. I originally intended to use it as an entry-level DAC/amp for listening on my Alessandro MS-1's, UE Super.fi 5 pro's and my German Maestro GMP 8.35 D Monitors (on the way from Germany!).

While I like the E-MU's recording functions, I'm just not impressed with its built-in headphone amp. I'm no analysis expert, but I would have to describe it as harsh and missing detail. Definitely not pleasing to the ear. It also seems to be missing some highs. Frankly, my IEMs sound better just listening to an ipod touch.

So here's my question -

Can someone suggest a decent entry-level headphone amp to be used in conjunction with the 0404? Anyone have a similar experience where they augmented their 0404 DAC with another amp that they're satisfied with?

Basically I would just use the 0404 for its recording capabilities and its DAC functionality (which is apparently quite good) and then a separate dedicated amp to power my headphones. Ideally it would be somewhere in the $150-200 range.

Side note: my MS-1's only work through one ear now. I don't know if the problem is the driver, or an internal connection, or what. Can I just take them to an electronics shop or a music shop for repair?

Thanks for all your help!
smily_headphones1.gif

Aug 21, 2009 at 8:00 PM Post #3 of 4
So you think I should just ditch the 0404's DAC too?

Aug 22, 2009 at 5:19 AM Post #4 of 4
I am sorry to hear that you are having sound quality issues. From what I understand the DAC on the E-MU is first rate. There are those on these forums who dismiss the headphone amp and recommend using the line-outs to go to a dedicated headphone amp.